Previous Next

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019 Presentation Ceremony in Kazan

On September 13, 2019, the award ceremony of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture was held in Kazan.

The Chairman of the Board of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan Elbay Gasim-zade and the President of the Club of Young Architects and Students, Advisor on International Relations Sheyda Novruz-zade took part in the ceremony from Azerbaijan as honored guests of the Fund.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is one of the oldest and most significant awards in the field of architecture. An expert jury selects a wide variety of projects - from slum upgrading programs to building green skyscrapers.

This year the winners of the Prize, which will share 1 million US dollars, are:

Bahrain- for the project on the revitalisation of the city of Muharraq, which is inscribed on a World Heritage Site;

Bangladesh -for the Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor;

Palestine -for the Palestinian Museum in Birzeit:

Russian Federation -for the Program for the Development of Public Spaces in the Republic of Tatarstan;

Senegal- for the academic building of Aliun Diop University in Bambey;

United Arab Emirates -for Wasit Ecosystem Park in Sharjah.

24, Murtuz Mukhtarov street, Baku

(+99412) 594-6840

UAA - Facebook / UAA - Instagram